blog-0-tron9000 v2.0


home stretch
16 May, 2009: [135/365], 16:18.33 [Saturday]
Filed under: Uncategorized

In yesterday’s update, I yammered on about all the supercool stuff I plan to do over the summer, but today I will illustrate that it’s not all fun n’ games or anything like that.

First off, I’ll be splitting my time between two jobs, the lab tech position I mentioned, and the crap photographer gig I have at Toyota of Bedford (I don’t talk about that one much, and for good reason). Basically, I will only have one day off per week, but I’m used to it, so it’s no big deal. Besides, others have it worse: Jen often has one- to two-week-long spans where she hasn’t a single day off, which is insane if you ask me, but money’s money, and we don’t have much.

I also have a lot of preparation to do for future academic endeavors. I’m taking the GRE in late July, so I need to get ready for that. I’m dreading it. I’m not worried one iota that I’ll do poorly on it, but I hate exams anyway. They’re so nerve-wracking, even if I were guaranteed to score perfectly on them, I’d still be keyed up over them.

Two days after that, I start on my Intermediate German II class. I’d prefer to keep in practice with the language, so I don’t get rusty. I feel bad about doing that with Spanish. I doubt I’ll ever be fluent, but I’d like to have decent working knowledge of reading and writing it. So I will try to study it using Rosetta Stone. I just hope it’s as good as they say it is.

After all that headache is over with, I move on to the biggest obstacle to getting into grad school: getting into grad school. I have to whittle down a huge list of schools into something I can work with, and go through the arduous application process from there. And then the rest is stupid hope. Ugh.

In the meantime, amidst all that stuff, I have a lot of catching up to do. The house is suffering from severe neglect, and I’m sure that eighty percent of the stuff I own has no use to me, so I need to chuck a bunch of it out. I guess I’ll be doing my spring cleaning a bit late. May as well pack some of my stuff up too, to get it out of the way before we move.

And then there’s the major thing I’ve been neglecting off and on for the last couple of years: my own body. I have been trying to lose weight for a while, and not really getting anywhere with it. There were times I was really doing well, so I know I can do it. Now I just have to seriously stick to it. I have to determine what works for me: when to work out, how, what to do, etc. I’ve been focusing on my mind for so long, I have to improve the rest of me.

So yeah, there’s a lot for me to do yet, no time to really relax. But it’s an improvement over the last four years, where my personal time was nonexistent.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Well hurry the hell up and find some damn free time. Alex wants to see ya and he’s driving me up the wall about it.

Comment by Cam Am I

I’ll have time at some point this summer. I’d say Memorial Day might be good, but Jen and I have sinus infections. If I’m any better by (and if I’m off work that day), I might call you up.

Comment by pzeud0nym

Wouldn’t matter. I’ve been reduced to every other weekend and it ain’t my weekend with him.

Comment by Cam




Leave a Reply

