blog-0-tron9000 v2.0


on the prowl, pt I: west thornton
09 January, 2009: [8/365], 16:46.20 [Friday]
Filed under: Life, Photography

Yeah, so I was bored, and I needed to get into a hobby. I decided I’d kinda check out the local urban decay here in Akron. My original plan was to go into the slummier areas and get shots of run-down bars and abandoned businesses, kinda like macro-urbex, without the breaking and entering.

I landed on W. Thornton St., a few exits from downtown.
IMG_0810
IMG_0811
This was a car wash or something, might have sold small parts too.
IMG_0812
NO DRUGS OKAY?

King Sign Co.: I thought this place was abandoned, but as it turns out, when I took this photo, there was a guy inside sitting there. Luckily, he didn’t see me.
IMG_0815
IMG_0818
IMG_0817
And I was apparently illegally parked (behind the building, so no one would really see my car). Oops. Oh well. Praise Jeezus, I guess.

IMG_0819
IMG_0824
IMG_0826
Here’s a few of the old, vacant buildings along the street. All in all, W. Thornton was pretty quiet [dead]. So much so, that I could have stood in the middle of the street and taken more photos, but I didn’t want to risk it. Maybe next time.

IMG_0822
W. Thornton, westward

IMG_0820
W. Thornton, eastward

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

